Fingal’s Cave

At school, over forty years ago, I heard Mendelsshon’s Hebridean Overture for the first time and studied geology for the first time also. Since then, I’ve always wanted to visit Fingal’s Cave, erroded from a spectacular basaltic island and inspiring Mendelsshon, with its surging waves and superb accoustics, to write his stirring piece. It’s been a long wait but well worth it! (The weather was fantastic too!)

Fingal's cave

Fingal's cave

Fingal's cave

Finga's cave

Fingal's cave

Tags:

13 Responses to “Fingal’s Cave”

  1. Cecilia Mary Gunther Says:

    Wow – it is a church – a cathedral.. I can just imagine the acoustics in there. what a treat! thank you. c

    • garybuie01 Says:

      It’s very much like a cathedral Cecilia, complete with organ pipes too! Also, the water is crystal clear and we could see to the bottom of the cave.
      Christine

  2. jaz Says:

    what a fabulous place.

  3. kathryningrid Says:

    I’ve only learned of Fingal’s Cave in recent years, but ever since I first saw pictures of it I’ve dreamt of visiting. Hope I can one day! So magical and mysterious and beautiful. Thanks for ‘taking me along’ on your trip there!!
    xoxo,
    Kathryn

    • garybuie01 Says:

      It is a very magical place. It was a BEAUTIFUL day for our visit with a virtually flat calm sea which was great for the boat trip but unfortunately we didn’t experience the surging waters inside the cave which inspired Mendelsshon. An iPod playing the overture whilst in the cave could be a good idea!!!
      Christine

  4. kathryningrid Says:

    Oh, and I adore Mendelssohn, too, so that’s another good excuse to want to visit there. 😉
    xo

    • garybuie01 Says:

      I hope that you get there Kathryn – stopping off on Skye to visit Garybuie of course!
      Christine

      • kathryningrid Says:

        Of course—I wouldn’t come all those miles without trying to visit you at Garybuie!! And your suggestion of the iPod accompaniment sounds like the perfect way to go to the Cave, whether the sea’s calm or not. 😀

  5. writeanne Says:

    Stunning photos of a stunning place. it’s spectacular isn’t it. Enjoy your time away.

  6. bluebunny01 Says:

    That is stunning. It must have been amazing to visit. One day I hope to go. Lovely photos as well by the way

    • garybuie01 Says:

      It really is well worth seeing – a geological cathedral! It looks as tough you’ve been checking up on Garybuie today! I really must pop over and visit your place soon as with one thing and another I haven’t been keeping up with my favourite blogs these past months. I feel a New Year’s resolution coming on…!
      Christine

Leave a Reply

