A shot in the (almost) dark

The View at night for a change! The almost full moon smiling down on our glen.

The View

Puff and Biggles don’t like to share their favourite perch, so when Mrs Under-by muscled in, off they flapped elsewhere. “I just wanted to be in on The View!” she said.

Mrs Under-by

This week has been a cold one for sure with the temperature hovering around freezing but more importantly, accompanied by a fairly strong, face-achingly, northerly wind. Ouch! A good week for scuttling around outdoor chores and heading back inside to warmer activities. Although Kevin’s been indoors, he’s not been on the same cushy number as I have, as he’s been working in the old church, making a start on our Quail brooders.

Quail brooder

After sending for another supply of upholstery glue – because I couldn’t for the life of me find the ‘safe place’ where I put the first lot! – I’ve finally completed the re-upholstery of our parlour suite. We’re both pleased with the outcome although I don’t think that I would be in a rush to take on a similar project. Well, maybe one chair. I have to say that it was hard on the back, all that stooping with hammer and tacks, rendering any subsequent duck-house cleaning to be quite painful. Lucky that I had a Kevin then, to step in with his shovel!

Parlour suite

Easier on the back, I’ve also had the time to do several paintings. First up was ‘Duck and Dive’, using Indian ink once more…

Lucky and Chance

…followed by Polly Blue-tail, with a hint of red this time. I prefer this one – lots of fiddly pen work!

Polly Blue-tail

Lastly, I had a go at some mixed media. I have absolutely no idea what to call this one! Any ideas?

mixed media

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 Responses to “A shot in the (almost) dark”

  1. Lynda Says:

    Your work is so beautiful. Which? All of it!

  2. garybuie01 Says:

    Thank you so much Lynda!
    Christine

  3. cecilia Says:

    Morning Christine. I have you on my list to ask if you would be a guest writer for me in a couple of weeks. i was so sure i had written to you but i guess my brain is tireder than i thought. Just a little low stress post telling us about your lovely small holding with a few pics. For the life of me I cannot find your email address. so sorry to ask you here. What do you think? We would love to have you..celima.g.7@gmail.com .. c

  4. RecyclerSA Says:

    Your pictures are all fabulous today! ‘Safe places’ should be sent to the hot place forthwith, they have defeated many a project around here too. Keep warm. Laura

  5. garybuie01 Says:

    Laura, I’m so glad there’s someone else who keeps things ‘safe’! Maybe the answer is to establish ONE safe place within the home and put ALL items requiring safety in it. Then of course one would have to write a note to remind oneself of the location of this all important safe place. Needless to say, it would be imperative to then put such a note… in a safe place. Hmmm…
    Christine

  6. Nanette Says:

    I love the mixed media duck picture, your work is amazing…..perhaps she’s trying to remember which ‘safe place’ she left her egg?

    • garybuie01 Says:

      Ha, ha, maybe you’re right Nanette. Ducks are inquisitive creatures, always looking for something new – and/or tasty!
      Christine

Leave a Reply

