Good weather continues and some winter tasks

September was a beautiful month and October is trying its best to continue the theme. Here’s ‘The View’, taken at 6 p.m. today.

The View

Already I’m half way through the first month of our closed season and after scrubbing the place from top to bottom, a sort of spring-clean in the autumn, winter tasks are vying for attention. Firstly, it was the twin room’s turn to be spruced up. I’ve spent the past couple of days concentrating on that and finished today which means that I can now close both B and B rooms and forget about them!

twin room

Twin room

Secondly, I am working on a pet portrait of a wee dog called Sammy, which was commissioned by two of our German guests this summer as a Christmas gift. A bit of a deadline there then!

Sammy

But the biggest task of all, is the re-upholstering of a recent (unplanned) antique purchase! We only went along to look for a couple of chairs and I found a rather nice carver chair. Then a matching dining chair around the corner. Then another one! In the end, it turned out, that dotted around the place was a complete Parlour Suite; two carvers, four chairs and a settee! Karen at the shop suspected that the suite was either late Victorian or Art Nouveau. I think that it’s more likely to be Victorian as the curvy bits don’t seem fluid enough to me for Art Nouveau – unless someone can tell me otherwise! Anyway, the frames are in pretty good nick but the upholstery definitely needs an upgrade. I have no idea how to do this but you can find anything on the Web these days!

Parlour Suite

Of course the problem with such an unplanned purchase is that nothing else goes with the thing! So, a new table was in order (sourced by the lovely people at the same shop) and the dining room now needs re-decorating!

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Good weather continues and some winter tasks”

  1. mandala56 Says:

    My brother is an art historian, and he says:
    As for the chairs – I’d date them ca. 1900-1920, neither Victorian nor Art-Nouveau, but with a bit of Art-Nouveau influence. If one wants a name, it might be called Edwardian.
    She might find similar things in furniture advertisements from the time, such as from the large shops, e.g. Heals. Has she looked for any labels underneath them?

    That said, I really like them! Can’t blame you for getting the whole set!

    • garybuie01 Says:

      There are no labels underneath but I’ve looked on ebay for similar suites and found two. One was Victorian, the other Art Nouveau. Neither were quite the same as ours so, you know what Jeanne, I think that your brother’s probably spot on with Edwardian!
      Christine

  2. Le Petit Potager Says:

    Christine I just love your parlour suite………my neighbour recently recovered an old setting painted the wood ivory and covered in black and white velvet; it did look stunning. Sounds like a wonderful winter’s project ahead.

    • garybuie01 Says:

      Wow! that re-upholstery job certainly sounds dramatic! I’m WAY to conventional for that kind of thing – too nervous to take the plunge I guess – so I’m sticking with the more traditional look. After all, our house is 1930s, so something too modern would look out of place.
      Christine

  3. kathryningrid Says:

    What a fabulous find! I’ll bet Jeanne’s brother is right. I know very little about furniture, but I pretty much use the same measure as I do when guessing automobiles’ vintage: picture what the people who used them were wearing. Silly, but I can better place things that are out of my limited bailiwick with a modicum of conviction that way. 😉 And yes, I *can* picture a nice, genteel group of Edwardians taking tea while seated on that pretty set. Well done. I’ll bet you’ll do a bang-up job with the revival of them.

    Sammy looks like a little charmer, too. Can’t wait to see what a handsome portrait you make of him. Lucky visitors!

    xo,
    Kathryn

    • garybuie01 Says:

      Well Kathryn, there might have been some genteel Edwardians seated on the suite at some point but there will be less genteel rears perching on them from now on! I’m looking forward to the project but with some trepidation I have to admit.
      Sammy, I’m more comfortable with. He’s probably got about an hour or so more work to be done but I’m pleased so far (Hope that my visitors are too!)
      Christine

Leave a Reply

