Unwelcome visitor

No, not a B and B guest but a sparrow hawk. Whilst making lunch, it occurred to me that the sparrows who reside in the bush outside the kitchen window were being particularly vociferous. I looked out and could see why…

Sparrow Hawk

Fortunately, this particular bush is quite dense and obviously required some special planning. “O.K., I’ll try an approach from above.”

hawk

“Fewer leaves here, at least I can see what I’m aiming for.”

hawk

“Perhaps if I jump up and down and flap, the wee blighters might fall off their perches.”

Hawk

“Or perhaps if I stand back from the hole they’ll think that I’ve gone.”

Hawk

“Hmmmph. Good bush.”

Hawk

“I can see you down there. You might have won on this occasion and it’s far too wet to hang around….”

hawk

“…but don’t start feeling smug, because I’ll be back!”

Hawk

No view today, literally, I’m afraid as the weather is atrocious. Hence the blobby shots of our visitor through the window.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Unwelcome visitor”

  1. cecilia Says:

    what a fantastic series of shots.. wow.. cheeky hawk.. c

    On Wed, Mar 5, 2014 at 8:24 AM, Garybuies Blog

  2. garybuie01 Says:

    Cheeky indeed! Although I’m happy for the sparrows, I did feel sorry for the hawk as it’s an awful, wet and windy day and I should think that most wee birds are hiding. I hope that he manages to find dinner before bed!
    Christine

  3. The Editors of Garden Variety Says:

    Wow….awesome images! A very determined hawk.

  4. Lynda Says:

    I think your visitor was awesome, but I am glad that the sparrows were smart enough to lay low till he left!

    • garybuie01 Says:

      He was and I watched him for a good five minutes so he must have been hungry! I hope that he managed to catch something later – maybe someone else’s sparrow!!
      Christine

Leave a Reply

