Hee-Haw

THE VIEW – 2.30p.m.

the view

I couldn’t get to the old church with a quick stride over the bridge today and had to take the long way around. For some reason there was a ducky convention/siesta on said bridge and being a softy, I didn’t like to disturb them!

Ducky convention

A bit of an art update: yesterday, I completed the ‘Whispering Donkeys’.

whispering donkeys

Now I’m back in the feline department and after that I’m going to have a go at something completely different. I subscribe to the SAA’s (Society for All Artists) magazine. ‘Paint’. Each year they hold a new challenge for readers and this year it’sΒ entitled ‘On Reflection’, requiring that we get to grips with metallic surfaces. Now I haven’t drawn a still life since school, over forty years ago, and I actually got the best mark of my entire, scholastic art career for it! I remember being thrilled to show my granddad my effort as he was the one with the artistic genes in the family and I’m grateful to him for whatever small sequence of artistic DNA I inherited from him! Mine was a school which regarded art as a subject which had to be ‘dealt with’ because it unfortunately took up space within the curriculum. Shame really. Anyway, here’s a photo of my chosen subject…

keys

Matt and Sarah bought this row of piggies’ bottoms for us in our pig-rearing days! I shall work from a photograph as the keys are in a really awkward alcove about 1/2 meter square, which is occupied by muddy footwear and gardening coats! However, I need to use time spent on my latest kitten portrait pondering on how to tackle the reflections and what medium to use.

Tags: , , ,

8 Responses to “Hee-Haw”

  1. Diane Fairhall Says:

    Love your piggie-bottom rack! Reminded me I have some similar earrings which I had forgotten about. The bit that goes through the ear has a cat bum/tail on it and the bit behind the ear is the cat’s head hanging upside down. πŸ™‚ Think I might have some pig or cow ones too – must look them out!

  2. Morning Bray Says:

    ohmygosh… is it who I think it is in your drawing? πŸ™‚ It is!!! It’s Bernard and Ellsworth. It’s beautiful!! Well done!!! πŸ™‚ xx

    • garybuie01 Says:

      Well, at least you recognize them so I must have done OK! I’ve been wanting to draw the pair for ages now so I’m glad that I got around to it. Glad that you like it!
      Christine

      • Morning Bray Says:

        I love it – I’ve been soooo bad about keeping up with everyone else’s blogs, let alone posting on my own… I was just skimming through and saw Hee-Haw and thought, huh! I saw your drawing and said to myself, “Wow, that looks familiar!” πŸ™‚ I’m smiling from ear to ear that B&E were your subjects… they’ll be so pleased when I show it to them. πŸ™‚ You did a great job, Christine!

  3. Morning Bray Says:

    May I post a copy of the drawing (with credit to you, of course) on Facebook/Twitter/my blog, etc? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

