I thought I’d take you for another new walk in the glen…

The crofter at the top of the glen constructed a track extending from the end of the road for about another mile. He made it last winter but today was the first day (I’m ashamed to say) that I’ve ventured along it. So I thought you might like to join me. It’s been another cloudless day, nice and crisp too! On yer bike then, to the end of the road…
Bike and fank

…then walk on through the sheep fank (fold) onto the track, looking for wildlife on the way…

New track

…like the hairy caterpillar navigating the cut edge of a peat bank…

P1000844

…or the deer tracks (no deer though)…

tracks

…and even, I’m fairly sure, a pair of golden eagles. I wish I’d had the binoculars! However, they were too large to be buzzards and the wings seemed wrong too. The zoom on my camera isn’t overly powerful, but I still have to share – well, one of them at least!

golden eagle

At the end of the track, we’re rewarded with a series of waterfalls.

waterfall

waterfall

Then we turn and head back down the glen…

Heading back

…back to the sheep fank where our bike awaits.

Fank

Such a perfect day, a day when I feel privileged to live and work in such a beautiful corner of the world. I hope you enjoyed our wee outing together!

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “I thought I’d take you for another new walk in the glen…”

  1. Dorinha Says:

    Beautiful!!!

  2. Mary Says:

    I want to walk down the glen!! It would be a long drive for a nice walk though. Patrick is almost big enough for his carrier, just on time for walks in the nice weather!

    • garybuie01 Says:

      We look forward to the day when we can all take a walk in the glen with wee Patrick! (That bonnie, smiling boy!)
      Christine

Leave a Reply

