New residents, new painting

We’ve had some very frosty mornings recently but today was milder, albeit gloomier, so I thought I’d take a brisk walk down the glen to deliver some Christmas cards.

River Hinnisdal

There are some new residents in the glen. Some who have been here for a few weeks…

horses

…and some newer arrivals…

hens

We are to have a new family in the glen, when they’ve had their house built that is, and apparently their animals got here first! There are departures from the glen too however, tons of logs each day.

loading

As usual, my plan had been to take a vigorous walk but I should know by now that such a plan is rarely fulfilled around here! Taking photographs slows the pace but it’s neighbours pulling up in their cars for a chat which inevitably results in any serious aerobic marching going out the window. But hey, that has to be one of the joys of living in a place like this; catching up with neighbours that is, NOT shirking the exercise regime! Anyway, at least I’d had my cobwebs blown away by the stiff breeze and I was ready to re-tackle Patches’ portrait and so far feel that things are going better. Maybe I’ll seek her opinion when it’s finished. As you can see, I’m ‘reading’ a new book while I paint, ‘The Girl Who Played With Fire’ by Stieg Larson which is the sequel to ‘The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo’. Very involved and gripping!

Patches

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “New residents, new painting”

  1. http://spinningsheeptails.blogspot.com/ Says:

    I’m enjoying reading and seeing your countryside.
    Audio books are such a nice way to read! I enjoyed all three of the Larson books. Very good, and very well read.

    • garybuie01 Says:

      Hi and thanks for stopping by! I prefer to read a real book but sometimes that’s just not possible when you’re multi-tasking!
      Christine

  2. dayphoto Says:

    Love visiting your part of the world. I also enjoy books, in paper, audio and on my kindle!

    Linda
    http://coloradofarmlife.wordpress.com

    • garybuie01 Says:

      Nice to hear from you Linda! I still prefer books best of all. I enjoy the whole page-turning thing! I’m just going to pop over to Colorado to see what you’re up to!
      Christine

Leave a Reply

