Crime in the cabbage patch!

There’s a bit of a mystery in the veg plot. Kevin was stacking wood the other day and came to tell me that the savoy cabbage crop had been decimated! Now bear in mind that Kevin was a journalist in our old life and like fishermen, is prone to being somewhat ‘over enthusiastic’, shall we say, when telling a tale! “So,” I said, “is there an explosion of the slug population then?” He thought I should see for myself; no journalistic licence on this occasion! This is what I found…

About half of the cabbages are like this. Not slugs then. I thought at first rooks perhaps, as there have been several hanging around recently. I remembered that as well as seeds and bugs, they also eat vegetables. When I checked the bird book however, it just mentioned corn and root vegetables. Also, I know that a rook’s beak is a substantial tool but the damage seems to be too extensive. How about deer? During the felling of the forest, deer have indeed been seen more frequently and at unusual times, maybe a bit disoriented. Could one of them have spotted our cabbage? There’s only one gap in the trees and shrubs surrounding the veg patch but the fence is low and easy to jump by a red deer. Is there anyone out there who can shed light on our mystery? Nothing else has been touched but I’ve now covered the savoys to prevent further destruction.

 

 

 

 

There’s something else of a less mysterious nature afoot in the veg patch too! My green manure has germinated, so I hope that no severe frosts occur to hinder its growth.

Back indoors, I completed my pencil drawing of the sheep’s skull today. I’m pleased with the outcome and thoroughly enjoyed doing it; especially with my newly acquired electric eraser which was great for highlights and crisping up edges. At least I’ve got the skull thing out of my system and so I return to the land of the living for my next model!

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Crime in the cabbage patch!”

  1. gardeningkiwi Says:

    Hi Christine.
    I had a cabbage do that to me once. It was like it had somehow split open. I think it was because I left it in too long and so it was preparing to send up it’s flower – the seeds have to come from somewhere! so I whipped it out of the ground and ate it quick smart.
    Cheers Sarah : o )

    • garybuie01 Says:

      I’m not sure Sarah. I’ve had other thind go to seed but there’s generally a sign of some kind of growing point – these are just holes! Also it’s a variety good for over-wintering. Also it seems too much of a coincidence that such a number should begin to go to seed at the same time. Even so, thanks for your suggestion, I shall certainly keep my eye on them for any flower development! Unfortunately there are too many for me to whip out of the ground and eat quick smart; I like cabbage, but not that much!!!
      Christine

Leave a Reply

