Wintry weather and accompanying pastimes

There’s a distinct wintry, bleak feel to the glen at the moment. Temperatures have been falling below freezing most nights and the snow is still on top of the ridge. Let’s hope it stays there! But with the wintry conditions come wintry pastimes for the residents of Garybuie.

The Polytunnel Winter Spa for Hens is doing brisk buisiness…

…large pools are reappearing in the field behind us, so the ducks are happy…

…and (not suitable for vegetarians!) Kevin is well down the line of this season’s chicken processing…

Thanks to buying our three Plymouth Rock pullets last year at the poultry auction, we’ve had some good sized birds this year – one being 2 kilos, unheard of before at Garybuie! Still, we’re also getting some wee skinnies at half that weight, but hey, they still taste divine and perfect for two!

  As far as my winter pastime goes, today I completed my painting of Patches, which I intend to use as our Christmas card design this year. Generally I’m pleased by the outcome and I’m particularly happy with Patches’ eye and the bauble…and maybe the foliage. Other parts could be better, but a bit of self-criticism (or criticism from anywhere else for that matter!) can only lead to improvement. Hopefully!

Because of the Christmas thing and that she’s a kitten/cute, Patches jumped the Portrait Queue a wee bitty, as Hamie was originally intended to be my first model of the season. Your turn next girl!

   Another winter pastime, for both of us, is reading. I’ve just finished a book which I enjoyed more than anything in ages; Anansi Boys, by Neil Gaiman. Very amusing and quirky. I’ve also read ‘American Gods’ by him and have watched the film ‘Stardust’, also by him (and filmed, in part, on Skye) but this one is the best of the three, in my opinion. Just thought I’d pass that one on to you in case you’re browsing your library shelves!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Wintry weather and accompanying pastimes”

  1. souldipper Says:

    Happy Hibernation. I downloaded the movie – thanks for its mention because it is rated rather well – which I’ll watch tomorrow.

  2. garybuie01 Says:

    Ooooh Yes! After a busy summer with VERY long days, I love my hibernation time! There’s not much that can beat snuggling up in front of the fire with a good book, while the wind and rain are doing their worst outside! Enjoy the movie!
    Christine

Leave a Reply

