Plants, paintings and pussycats!

It’s been a gorgeous week weather-wise, albeit on the chilly side, with frost overnight but no breeze until today. Perfect for getting out in the garden then! I’m having a go with Green Manure this year in an attempt to revitalize the veg plot and KEEP DOWN THE WEEDS! I’ve got two lots of seed; Mustard and Field Beans. It’s the mustard which I’ve planted this week but the beans can’t escape their packet until March.

I’ve covered my sowing for two reasons; to help protect them from the frost and to prevent the cats thinking that it’s a perfectly prepared litter tray! Needless to say I had to undertake some serious weeding before sowing, which was thoroughly enjoyable (for the first day at least!) in the sunshine. As you can see, our brassicas are still in the ground, as are our carrots and parsnips, where they will over-winter until they’re eaten!

 Today’s weather was a different matter however; still cold but with a bitter north-easterly wind. I felt quite smug that I’d completed my outdoor tasks earlier in the week! Today I took cover in the polytunnel, taking geranium cuttings and planting bulbs in the window-boxes. I love it in the tunnel when it’s windy; there’s a constant low drumming as the polythene is buffeted which I find quite soothing. Annnnnd it blocks out the noise of the machine in the forest!

Something else which I’ve managed to get started this week is my winter painting endeavours! I usually make my own Christmas cards, either by using photographs or making copies of a suitably seasonal painting. This year, I’ve chosen Patches as my model!

I have to say that the strange angle of this photo is beyond my humble abilities, so I resorted to using the grid method and don’t feel too guilty about it! Also, to give the painting a more festive feel, I’m replacing the palm frond with some pine branches and a Christmas bauble. Goodness only knows what mayhem Patches will cause when the baubles actually make an appearance for real!

Anyway, on the subject of pussycats, here’s a blog which I visit now and then and it never fails to make me smile! I hope that you enjoy it too.

You wanna try out my new box?.

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Plants, paintings and pussycats!”

  1. Fluffy Tufts Says:

    Wow! Your garden looks amazing!

    • garybuie01 Says:

      Thank you! I have to say though, if it wasn’t for the preparation needed for the green manure experiment, the whole thing would look far less ‘formal’, shall we say!
      Christine

  2. cecilia Says:

    Your garden puts mine to shame and I remember some drawings of yours from last winter I think? I look forward to seeing what you do with the wee moggy, speaking of which i need to get out to the barn and check my two scamps! c

    • garybuie01 Says:

      Ah, but you’ve got piggies to tidy your veg plot! And yes, winter is my chance to work on my painting ‘skills’. Unfortunately, the opening of the paint box often heralds disaster! I’ll show you the results though, disaster or otherwise!
      Christine

Leave a Reply

