7 days later…

Today was a big day, a checking on the wormery day! I didn’t really know what to expect but what I got was this…

As far as the first picture goes, I guess like anyone moving into a new home, worms must like to re-arrange things to their own taste! That’s fine, but although it all looks very neat, I’d hoped that more of my specially prepared veggie scraps would have been processed rather than being turned into some wormy work of art! Maybe I’m expecting too much too soon.  After all, the instructions did say that the worms like to thoroughly investigate their new surroundings before they settle in and judging by the starter medium all over the walls, I assume that’s exactly what they’ve been doing! As you can see in the second picture, some of the wee fellas are still checking things out. Or maybe they’re lost? On the other hand I have another theory…

As you can see by the logo on the side of the wormery, Tiger worms would appear to have poor eye-sight! Of the worms that I’ve seen, not one of them is wearing glasses so no wonder they’re lost – it’s dark in there!!! Memo to self – take relevent worms to Specsavers on my next appointment! Anyway, enough of all this frivolity and resume a more scientific approach! I’ve done as instructed and added a couple more handfuls of kitchen scraps to the wormery and guess what? We now have to wait for another seven days before any further action!

 

 

BATTERY UPDATE…

The battery re-charge didn’t go exactly to plan yesterday – what’s new? With not even the slightest breeze – a rarity this winter – The Beast went into a sulk after some generally impeccable behaviour so far. Consequently, I was in and out like a fiddler’s elbow trying to cajole the thing to at least stay alight! Such frequent visits considerably hampered all essential pre- re-charging chores and it wasn’t until lunchtime that a stiff north-westerly kicked in and breathed life into the iron brute. I swear that the thing chuckled when I eventually returned to my Wallace portrait! So, I didn’t spend as much time as I would have liked with pen and paper, but here’s how it’s going so far…

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 Responses to “7 days later…”

  1. Teri Says:

    Love the Wallace picture! I’m having your lovely cherry (?) tree in the ruins framed soon (waiting on the store to have their 50% off sale!).

    Perhaps the worms don’t realize that very near are some hungry hens who would love to come in and make short work of them. LOL

    • garybuie01 Says:

      Good point Teri, maybe threatening them with such a ‘fowl’ fate might ‘spur’ them on!
      Christine
      P.S. Yes, cherry’s the one!

  2. ceciliag Says:

    It does take a while. If you want to hurry up the process, cook or microwave(then cool) the vege scraps, they need to rot down a wee bit before the worms start to dig in, soft stuff like melon and old fruit goes fast. They LOVE tea bags and coffee grounds. Also remember that worms become part of a micro-ecosystem of insect life, they do not work alone, so all those other little microorganisms are developing too. Keep putting in your layers of brown and green and remember a little water, keep moist as a well wrung out sponge. I must go down and dig about in my worms and do some rearranging of my own.. oh and egg shells, some ground and some whole, they like to rest in the whole ones and they need the ground shell for their bellies! Oh dear. you probably know all this already! I do go on. i love the worms! maybe i will post mine too.. c

    • garybuie01 Says:

      Cecilia,
      Don’t worry, your ‘going on’ is very much appreciated! The cooking thing certainly sounds like a good idea, particularly for the tougher things I guess. I used to cook the more ‘substantial’ veg when we had pigs to make them more digestable. I suppose there’s no reason why the wormies wouldn’t appreciate such haute cuisine as well!
      Christine

  3. ceciliag Says:

    I put this on my FB page. Everyone needs one! c

    • garybuie01 Says:

      Cecilia,
      Thank-you and I agree! I think I’m going to have to look into the Facebook thing. I’m a technophobe at heart and have avoided it so far but I’m beginning to feel that I’m missing out on something. Plus the fact that I’ll be able to put your ‘seed swap’ idea on there!

  4. Snow as Art, An award, and yes, a wee story | thekitchensgarden Says:

    […] GaryBuie’s  […]

  5. aFrankAngle Says:

    Cecilia suggested to stop by … nice place! … love the cat!

Leave a Reply

